25th Annual Literary Lights Dinner

On Sunday, April 14th, the Associates of the Boston Public Library hosted the 25th annual Literary Lights – a black tie, candle-lit dinner that pays tribute to outstanding writers from the Northeast.  This year’s six distinguished honorees, or “Literary Lights,” were recognized for their excellence in a wide variety of literary genres. Collectively, they have won dozens of major awards for their work. Held in the Grand Ballroom at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel for nearly 500 guests, it was the largest Literary Lights dinner to date and raised a record amount of “over $300,000.”

The Literary Lights 2013 honorees were: novelist Junot Diaz, historian Drew Faust, mystery writer Joseph Finder, playwright David Lindsay-Abaire, non-fiction writer Sherry Turkle, and children’s author Mo Willems.  The awards were presented by their peers: Erica Funkhouser, Geraldine Brooks, John Taylor Williams, Peter DuBois, David Kaiser, Jack Gantos, and Ric Burns.

The awards presentation was followed by a keynote address by author and historian, David McCullough. He is a two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize, two-time winner of the National Book Award, and has received the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian award.

In 2001, the Associates of the Boston Public Library established the David McCullough Conservation Fund to provide a consistent source of funding for the restoration and preservation of books, manuscripts, works of art and historic documents in the Library’s Rare Books and Special Collections. Proceeds from Literary Lights will benefit the David McCullough Conservation Fund and the Associates’ operations.

Copyright © 2013 Roger Farrington